2013 Presidents Cup captain’s picks announced: Spieth, Webb for Americans, de Jonge + Leishman for Internationals #PresidentsCup #MuirfieldVillage

The Presidents Cup, you know, the biennial competition that the International team has only won once ever (’98, ok yeah they tied in ’04 too) and that helps make the Americans feel good about themselves in team play since they can’t win a “real” team match play competition (Ryder Cup), officially rounded out its full rosters today with the announcement of its captain’s picks. 

For the Americans side, captain Fred Couples selected Webb Simpson and Jordan Spieth.  Webb was the odd duck out on the points list, as Zach Johnson drained a putt on the 18th green on Sunday to bump the 2012 U.S. Open champ out of the top 10 by a smidgen of a point, but captain Couples’ pick gives him a spot on the team.  Despite not winning this season on Tour, Webb has posted 4 top 10s and a plethora of top 25s turning in another solid season.

As for Spieth, well the 20-year-old has pretty much been the talk of the Tour the latter half of this year, with a win at the John Deere Classic, a playoff loss at the Wyndham Championship and six other top 10s.  Despite being 22nd in the standings, the pick was an absolute no-brainer for Freddy as not only is Spieth arguably the hottest player on Tour at the moment, but also comes in as the rookie of the squad with pure adrenaline running through those veins.  Players like Spieth were born to play in Ryder and Presidents Cups, as their inner-fire for the game just screams patriotism and team fist-pumping (a la Keegan Bradley).

Notable snubs off this year’s roster include Jim Furyk (went 5-0 in the Presidents Cup in ’11 but painfully crumbled in the ’12 Ryder Cup), Bubba Watson (an absolute spaz and jerk to his caddie on live television) and Dustin Johnson (aloof goose who only cares about all things Paulina and smoking dope).  Personally, I would’ve rather seen Billy Horschel picked over Webb for the team, but overall with the Spieth pick I love our team.

Webb and Spieth join Tiger Woods, Brandt Snedeker, Phil Mickelson, Matt Kuchar, Jason Dufner, Keegan Bradley, Steve Stricker, Bill Haas, Hunter Mahan and Zach Johnson as the others representing the red, white and blue.

As for the Internationals, captain Nick Price selected Marc Leishman and Brendon de Jonge (whom I’ve been mega high on all year).  Those two rookie cats join Adam Scott, Jason Day, Charl Schwartzel, Ernie Els, Louis Oosthuizen, Hideki Matsuyama, Branden Crace, Graham DeLaet, Richard Sterne and Angel Cabrera.  Yep, there’s reason the Internationals are already more than a 2/1 underdog again this year.

This year’s matches are October 3rd-6th at Muirfield Village in Dublin, Ohio, aka Jack’s place.  8-1-1 all-time, here we come.

Joel Harrington

Speak Your Mind